tessmudge

What I like in a documentary

In Transient Spaces on May 1, 2009 at 1:50 am

I thought in order to make some decisions about my documentary’s format I’d think about what I like about other documentaries.

I like when music is used to set the scene.

I like jazzy editing, not just a straight cut and paste.

I like beginnings that grab you, but don’t give everything away.

The Bob Dylan documentary, Don’t Look Back was great, it had some really strong historical footage, and used interviews to highlight what was being shown.

I loved Touching the Void about the mountaineers. It was mainly re-creations, and an interview. But when you have a compelling story, the way you convey it can be simple. Is my story compelling? It’s at least interesting I hope. I’m too close to it to judge accurately.

There is so much I want to do. Unfortunately because of time constraints and many other commitments I know I wont be able to make it exactly as I want.

I was listening to Adam Curry’s Daily Source Code yesterday, and he said something pertinent to this project. Something along the lines of, for every minute of video footage there is at least an hour of work behind it.

He might be talking about slightly more sophisticated productions, but planning, filming and editing does take a lot of time. So it gets frustrating because I know the image I have in my head is probably unachievable. But I might as well try. It’s much easier than writing my Communication Revolutions essay or Literature Review anyway!

Leave a Reply

