tessmudge

Thesis or project? Idea?

In Honours blog on March 10, 2009 at 3:38 am

It is time to seriously think about a potential thesis or project idea. Over summer I thought up something that I wanted to do this year, but I’m worried I decided too early. Now I haven’t allowed other ideas to surface because I decided that I wanted to do this one particular thing. Oh well. We will see on Thursday if it is appropriate. Here it is:

I want to look at niche markets. It seems that nobody needs to rely on mass media anymore. Reading the paper is for many, a habit or leisure activity, rather than an information gathering exercise. If you really want information on a specific news event you would go online and look it up. Getting huge amounts of information, and more current information than you ever could from a daily paper.

It is the same for everything. No matter what you’re interested in there is very specific and abundant information out there for you. There are huge numbers of blogs, news sites, magazines,  independent websites, online encyclopedias….just information! You can find whatever you want. The internet is a cornucopia of information and communication tools. We as consumers have complete freedom. Monopolies of information don’t exist anymore. We aren’t reliant on mass media. There is huge competition for our attention. We may pick and choose what we spend our time on.

So I decided I wanted to explore the effects of the reversal of power between consumers and mass media. And how niche markets are effecting the way people operate.

I’m not sure yet if I want to do a thesis or project. But if I do a project I’d like to create a website. Aimed at a particular niche out there that is not currently being adequately looked after.

Leave a Reply

